The best CRM for a small business is rarely the one with the lowest headline price. It is the one that is still affordable on the day your team needs workflow automation, a second pipeline or automated email sequences, because that is the day most vendors move you up a tier, and sometimes add a fee on top.
We read each vendor's own pricing page, and help documentation where the pricing page was unclear, on 16 September 2026, and built every table below from those pages only. We did not test these CRMs, so there are no usability scores here. What you get instead is the cost structure: minimum seats, what the free tier really caps, the first tier with automation, onboarding fees and contract terms, and what a 3-person and a 10-person team actually pay.
The short answer: which small business CRM fits which team
Pick on the features you will need in twelve months, not the ones you need today, then price that tier.
| Situation | Where to look first | Why, from the vendor's own page |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 3 people, zero budget, want some automation | Zoho CRM Free | Free for 3 users and includes workflow rules, capped at 10 per module with 5 active, and 5,000 records |
| Cheapest paid plan with basic workflows | Freshsales Growth | $9 a user a month billed annually, with basic workflows listed |
| Pipeline-led sales team that wants automations and sequences on one plan | Pipedrive Growth | $24 a seat billed annually or $34 monthly, with automations and nurturing sequences |
| Team that lives in Gmail and Google Workspace | Copper Professional | Workflow automation and 15,000 contacts at $59 a seat annually |
| Want one flat price with no tiers or contracts | Less Annoying CRM | $15 a user a month, unlimited pipelines, no contracts, but no workflow automation listed |
| Phone-heavy outbound team | Close Growth | Calling, SMS and automated workflows, but workflows start at $99 a seat |
| Already on HubSpot's free CRM | Price Sales Hub Professional before you commit | Customizable workflows and sequences start there, with a required $1,500 onboarding fee |
Which CRM plan first includes workflow automation?
This is the table that decides your real cost. "Workflow automation" here means the vendor lists workflows or automations that run actions for you, not just reminders. Each row was read at source on 16 September 2026.
| Vendor | Entry paid plan (annual billing) | First tier with workflow automation | First tier with email sequences | Pipelines and record caps along the way |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HubSpot Sales Hub | Starter $7 a seat (struck-through $20) | Professional, $90 a seat. Starter only triggers tasks and notifications when deals change stage | Professional | Free 1 deal pipeline, Starter 2, Professional 15 |
| Zoho CRM (INR) | Standard Rs 800 a user | Free, limited to 10 rules per module with 5 active | Standard (cadences) | Free: 5,000 records and default pipeline only. Standard: 100,000 records and 5 pipelines |
| Freshsales | Growth $9 a user | Growth (listed as basic workflows) | Pro, $39 | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Pipedrive | Lite $14 a seat | Growth, $24 | Growth | Not stated on the pricing page |
| monday CRM | Basic $12 a seat, 3-seat minimum | Standard, $17, with 250 custom automations a month | Pro, $28 | Active contacts and deals: Basic 1,000, Standard 10,000, Pro 100,000 |
| Salesforce Starter Suite | $25 a user (starting price) | Starter lists built-in sales flows and lead routing; Pro Suite, $100, is sold on more automation | Starter lists email nurture campaigns | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Attio | Plus $35 a seat | Plus, per Attio's plans help article | Pro, $79 | Records: Free 50,000, Plus 250,000, Pro 1,000,000 |
| Capsule | Starter $18 a user | Growth, $36 | Not stated on the pricing page | Free 1 pipeline and 250 contacts, Starter 30,000 contacts, Growth multiple pipelines and 60,000 contacts |
| Insightly | Plus $29 a user | Professional, $49 | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Copper | Basic $23 a seat | Professional, $59. Basic has task automation only | Business, $99 (email series) | Contacts: Basic 2,500, Professional 15,000, Business unlimited |
| Close | Solo $9 (one user only) | Growth, $99. Solo and Essentials say workflows not included | Growth (workflows automate email, SMS and calls) | Solo capped at 10,000 leads; unlimited from Essentials |
| Less Annoying CRM | $15 a user, one plan | Not listed | Not listed | Unlimited pipelines; vendor suggests staying under 50,000 contacts |
Where a cell says not stated, the answer was not on the vendor's public pricing page and we did not fill it from third-party summaries. The size of the jump is the story. On Close's pricing page, going from Solo to the first plan with workflows moves you from $9 to $99 a seat. At Copper it is $23 to $59, at Capsule $18 to $36, at Insightly $29 to $49, and at HubSpot a discounted $7 Starter seat becomes a $90 Professional seat plus a one-time fee.
Do any CRMs require a minimum number of seats?
Yes. monday CRM is the clearest case. Its pricing page says plans start from 3 users, and the team size selector offered 3, 5, 10, 15 and 20 seats on 16 September 2026. The Basic plan's $12 a seat headline therefore costs at least $36 a month on yearly billing, and a 4-person team is sold the 5-seat bucket. Yearly plans are paid in one upfront instalment.
Two other structures behave like minimums or maximums:
- Seat caps that force an upgrade. Attio Free allows up to 3 seats and Plus up to 10, so the eleventh person moves the whole workspace to Pro at $79 a seat annually. Close Solo is limited to 1 user.
- Flat organization pricing. Bitrix24 prices per organization rather than per user. The page served to us from India, in rupees, showed Basic including 5 users, Standard 50 and Professional 100, with sales automation first listed on Standard and workflow automation on Professional. We are not quoting the rupee figures as a US price.
We did not see a minimum seat count on the HubSpot, Pipedrive, Zoho, Freshsales, Close, Copper, Capsule, Insightly, Salesforce or Less Annoying CRM pages.
Which CRM has the best free plan for a small team?
Zoho CRM's free edition is the most useful for a team of up to three that wants automation, because it is the only free tier we found that includes workflow rules. The trade-off is a 5,000-record cap and a single default pipeline. These are the permanent free tiers we verified:
- Zoho CRM Free: 3 users, 5,000 records, workflow rules capped at 10 per module with 5 active, no custom reports. See Zoho's edition comparison.
- Attio Free: up to 3 seats, 50,000 records, 3 reports, 200 emails a month. Workflows are listed from Plus.
- HubSpot Free: up to 2 users and 1 deal pipeline, with 3 email templates and HubSpot branding on 1-to-1 email.
- Capsule Free: maximum 2 users, 250 contacts, 1 sales pipeline and 5 custom fields.
- Bitrix24 Free: free for 1-2 users with basic CRM for deals and contacts.
Pipedrive, monday CRM, Close, Copper and Insightly offer trials rather than free plans: 14 days for Pipedrive, monday CRM, Close and Insightly. Less Annoying CRM offers a 30-day trial.
Is Freshsales still free?
Not on its current pricing page. On 16 September 2026 Freshworks' Freshsales pricing page showed three paid plans, Growth at $9, Pro at $39 and Enterprise at $59 per user a month billed annually, and a 21-day trial after which you select a plan and pay to continue. No $0 plan was listed.
That matters because ranking articles still say otherwise. OnePageCRM's best CRM for small business roundup, published 13 May 2026, lists Freshsales with a free plan for up to 3 users. If a free tier is the reason you are shortlisting a CRM, confirm it on the vendor's page on the day you sign up. The same roundup gives Pipedrive's next plan as $39 a seat; Pipedrive's page showed Growth at $24 billed annually.

How much does a CRM cost for a 3-person team with workflow automation?
The assumption for this worked example: the team needs automated workflows, so each vendor is priced at the first tier that lists them. Figures are per month in US dollars before tax, read at source on 16 September 2026. Annual figures are the per-month price when billed yearly; a dash means the vendor's page did not give us a verifiable monthly-billing figure in US dollars.
| Vendor and plan | 3 seats, annual billing | 3 seats, monthly billing | What else to know |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zoho CRM Free | $0 | $0 | Workflow rules capped at 5 active per module; 5,000 records |
| Freshsales Growth | $27 | - | Basic workflows; sequences need Pro at $39 a user |
| monday CRM Standard | $51 | $75 | 250 custom automations a month; 3 seats is the minimum |
| Pipedrive Growth | $72 | $102 | Automations and sequences on the same plan |
| Salesforce Starter Suite | $75 | $75 | Starting price; transaction fees apply |
| Attio Plus | $105 | $132 | Sequences need Pro at $79 or $99 a seat |
| Capsule Growth | $108 | - | Zero setup and onboarding fees |
| Insightly Professional | $147 | - | Prices shown as billed annually only |
| Copper Professional | $177 | $207 | Email series need Business at $99 or $134 a seat |
| HubSpot Sales Hub Professional | $270 | $300 | Plus a required one-time $1,500 onboarding fee; monthly payment still commits you annually |
| Close Growth | $297 | $327 | Calling and SMS usage billed on top |
The spread is more than tenfold between the cheapest and the most expensive paid options, for the same capability headline. Spread HubSpot's onboarding fee across the first year and a 3-seat Professional account costs $4,740 in year one on annual billing, or $395 a month.
How much does a CRM cost for a 10-person team?
Same method, ten seats, first tier with workflow automation.
| Vendor and plan | 10 seats, annual billing | 10 seats, monthly billing | What changes at 10 seats |
|---|---|---|---|
| Freshsales Growth | $90 | - | No seat cap stated |
| monday CRM Standard | $170 | $250 | 10 is one of the offered seat buckets |
| Pipedrive Growth | $240 | $340 | No seat cap stated |
| Salesforce Starter Suite | $250 | $250 | Starter lists unlimited users |
| Attio Plus | $350 | $440 | 10 is the Plus maximum; one more hire means Pro |
| Capsule Growth | $360 | - | 60,000 contact cap |
| Insightly Professional | $490 | - | Billed annually |
| Copper Professional | $590 | $690 | 15,000 contact cap |
| HubSpot Sales Hub Professional | $900 | $1,000 | Plus $1,500 onboarding; $12,300 in year one on annual billing |
| Close Growth | $990 | $1,090 | Plus calling and SMS usage |
Zoho CRM is missing from this table on purpose. Its free edition stops at 3 users, and the pricing pages served to us showed rupees only: Standard at Rs 800 a user a month billed annually and Rs 1,300 billed monthly, which puts 10 users at Rs 8,000 or Rs 13,000 a month. We would rather report what we saw than convert it into a dollar figure Zoho did not publish to us. Less Annoying CRM, at $150 a month for 10 users, is also left out because workflow automation is not among its listed features.
Does HubSpot charge an onboarding fee?
Yes, on Professional and Enterprise. HubSpot's Sales Hub pricing page states that the Professional price does not include the required one-time Professional Onboarding fee of $1,500, and that Enterprise, from $150 a seat, carries a required one-time $3,500 onboarding fee. Professional also showed "commit annually" under the pay monthly option, so paying monthly does not remove the annual commitment.
On Starter, the page showed $7 a seat billed annually and $10 billed monthly, both next to a struck-through $20. That reads as a discount on the list price; we could not see on the page how long it lasts, so budget for $20 when you renew. The more important point is what Starter does not include: its sales automation row covers tasks and email notifications triggered by deal stage changes, while up to 300 fully customizable workflows and sequences start on Professional.
Other vendors' fees and terms, from their own pages:
- Pipedrive says implementation is free on plans over $400 a year.
- Capsule charges zero setup fees and zero onboarding fees, and you can cancel at any time.
- Salesforce Starter Suite is billed monthly or annually, while Pro Suite at $100 a user is billed annually with a contract required.
- Close offers a 30-day money-back guarantee; annual plans can be upgraded, but downgrades and cancellations take effect at the end of the term.
- Less Annoying CRM has no tiers and no contracts.
- monday CRM gives a prorated refund if you cancel a yearly plan within 30 days of paying.
What are the cheapest HubSpot alternatives?
If the reason you are leaving HubSpot is the jump to Professional, the cheapest verified options with workflow automation were Zoho CRM Free for up to 3 users, Freshsales Growth at $9 a user billed annually, monday CRM Standard at $17 a seat with a 3-seat minimum, and Pipedrive Growth at $24 a seat. For a 10-person team the gap is large: $90 to $240 a month on those paid plans against $900 a month plus $1,500 at HubSpot Professional.
Check what you would give up. HubSpot Professional includes up to 300 customizable workflows, 15 deal pipelines and up to 100 custom reports according to its page, and some alternatives cap automations tightly. monday CRM Standard allows 250 custom automations a month, and Zoho's free workflow rules stop at 5 active per module. If your team needs email sequences rather than simple automations, compare Attio Pro, Freshsales Pro and monday CRM Pro, because sequences sit one tier above basic automation at all three.
Is annual billing cheaper than monthly billing for CRM software?
Almost always, but the discount varies and it locks you in. On the pages we read, the per-seat saving at the first automation tier was $10 at Pipedrive Growth ($24 against $34), $8 at monday CRM Standard ($17 against $25), $9 at Attio Plus ($35 against $44), $10 at Copper Professional ($59 against $69), $10 at HubSpot Professional ($90 against $100) and $10 at Close Growth ($99 against $109). Salesforce showed the same $25 Starter price for either billing basis.
The saving only counts if the team size holds. monday CRM takes yearly payment upfront, Close applies annual downgrades at the end of the term, and HubSpot Professional commits you annually either way. A small business that expects to add or lose people in the next six months is often better off paying monthly for the first year.
How to choose a small business CRM without overpaying
- List the three features you expect to need within a year: usually workflow automation, email sequences and a second pipeline.
- Find the first tier on each shortlisted vendor's page that includes all three. That, not the entry plan, is your price.
- Multiply by your seat count, applying any minimum or seat bucket, and add one-time onboarding fees.
- Check caps that force the next upgrade: contact or record limits, seat maximums and monthly automation allowances.
- Choose annual billing only when your headcount is stable, and read the price on the vendor's page on the day you buy.
Every figure in this article was accurate on the vendor pages we read on 16 September 2026. CRM pricing in this category has changed within months, including free plans disappearing, so treat any comparison older than a quarter, this one included, as a starting point rather than a quote.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best CRM for a small business?▾
Which CRM has the best free plan for a small team?▾
Which CRM plan first includes workflow automation?▾
How much does a CRM cost for a 3-person team with workflow automation?▾
Does HubSpot charge an onboarding fee?▾
Do any CRMs require a minimum number of seats?▾
Is Freshsales still free?▾
Is annual billing cheaper than monthly billing for CRM software?▾
Get a Free AI Ranking Consultation
Want to improve your brand's visibility in AI search engines like ChatGPT, Gemini, and Perplexity? Fill out the form and our experts will create a personalized strategy for you.

Written by
Devanshu
Chief Marketing Officer & AI Search Optimization Architect
Digital Marketing Strategist & Pioneer in SEO, Answer Engine Optimization (AEO), and Generative Engine Optimization (GEO).



