For a remote team, the best project management software is the one whose plan still works after the whole team, a couple of contractors and a handful of automations are inside it. Headline prices barely differ. What differs is where each vendor caps members, boards, automation runs and guests, and which tier first unlocks a timeline view.
We read each vendor's own pricing page, plus official help documentation where the pricing page was silent, on 16 September 2026, and built every table below from those pages only. We did not test these tools, so there are no usability scores here. You get the cost structure instead: free tier caps, automation limits, guest rules, the tier that first includes timeline or Gantt views, and what a 5-person and a 25-person remote team actually pay.
The short answer: which project management tool fits which remote team
Choose on the limits you will hit in the next year, then price that tier.
| Situation | Where to look first | Why, from the vendor's own page |
|---|---|---|
| Small team on a zero budget | Trello Free or ClickUp Free Forever | Trello Free allows up to 10 collaborators per Workspace; ClickUp Free Forever lists unlimited members, but only 60MB of storage and 100 automation executions |
| Cheapest per-seat plan with a timeline view | Trello Premium | $10 a user a month billed annually, with Timeline view and unlimited Workspace command runs |
| Lots of freelancers and clients in the workspace | Asana Starter | Unlimited free guests that do not increase your license count, plus timeline and Gantt views |
| 25 or more people who mostly need to-dos, messages and files | Basecamp | Flat pricing with no per-user fees: Studio is $59 a month with unlimited users |
| Software team working in sprints | Jira or Linear | Jira Free covers up to 10 users; Linear Free has unlimited members but 250 issues and 2 teams |
| Team that wants heavy automation on a per-seat plan | ClickUp Business or monday Pro | ClickUp Business gives 5,000 automation executions a month; monday Pro gives 25,000 automation actions a month |
Asana vs Trello: which is better for a remote team?
Trello is cheaper and simpler per seat; Asana is cheaper once your remote team works with many outside collaborators. That is the direct answer from the two pricing pages, and it comes down to guests.
- Price for timeline views. Trello's pricing page puts Timeline view on Premium at $10 a user a month billed annually or $12.50 monthly. Asana's pricing page includes timeline and Gantt views on Starter at $10.99 billed annually or $13.49 monthly. Almost the same.
- Guests. Asana Starter lists unlimited free guests and says guest seats do not increase your license count. Trello says any guest on more than one board in the Workspace is a multi-board guest, billed at the same rate as a Workspace member, and multi-board guests are listed from Premium.
- Automation. Trello Free includes 250 Workspace command runs a month, Standard 1,000 and Premium unlimited. Asana Starter lists unlimited automations and a no-code workflow builder.
- Workload. Neither entry tier covers capacity planning. Asana puts workload and resource management on Advanced at $24.99 a user billed annually; we found no workload view on Trello's plan list.
- Free plans. Trello Free allows up to 10 collaborators and 10 boards per Workspace. Asana's free Personal plan is limited to 2 users, so it is not a realistic option for a team.
So for a 10-person team that shares boards with four freelancers across several boards, Trello Premium bills 14 seats while Asana Starter bills 10. For a team that rarely invites outsiders, Trello Premium costs about 9% less per seat.
Which project management tool has the best free plan for a remote team?
For a whole team, Trello Free and ClickUp Free Forever go furthest, but each hits a different wall. Jira Free is strongest for software teams of up to 10. These are the free tier caps we verified:
| Tool | Members | Storage and files | Projects or boards | Automation on free |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trello Free | Up to 10 collaborators per Workspace | Unlimited storage, 10MB a file | Up to 10 boards per Workspace | 250 Workspace command runs a month |
| ClickUp Free Forever | Unlimited members | 60MB total | Not capped on the page | 5 active rules, 100 automation executions |
| Jira Free | Up to 10 users | 2 GB | Not capped in the plan doc | 150 automation steps per subscription |
| Linear Free | Unlimited members | 10MB file uploads | 250 issues, 2 teams | Not stated on the pricing page |
| monday work management Free | Up to 2 seats | Not stated on the pricing page | Up to 3 boards and 3 Docs | Automations listed from Standard |
| Basecamp Free | 5 users max | 1 GB | 1 project | Not applicable |
| Notion Free | Block storage limited for 2 or more members | 5MB file uploads, 7 days page history | Not capped by page count | Buttons only from Plus |
| Asana Personal | 2 users | Unlimited storage, 100MB a file | Unlimited tasks and projects | Automations listed from Starter |
Two caps bite remote teams first. ClickUp's 60MB of total storage fills quickly once people attach screenshots and recordings instead of talking in person. Notion's pricing page says a Free workspace with multiple members can add only a limited number of blocks before upgrading, without stating the number on the page.
What do free plans limit for automation runs?
Automation runs are the cap listicles skip, and they matter more for remote teams because automations do the handoffs a colleague at the next desk would otherwise do. Monthly allowances read at source:
- ClickUp: Free Forever 100 executions with 5 active rules, Unlimited 1,000 executions with 500 active rules, Business 5,000 with unlimited rules, Enterprise 250,000. See ClickUp's pricing page.
- Trello: Free 250 Workspace command runs a month, Standard 1,000, Premium unlimited.
- monday work management: Standard 250 automation actions a month and 250 integration actions, Pro 25,000 of each, Enterprise up to 250,000.
- Jira: Free 150 steps per subscription, Standard 400 steps per user per month, Premium 750 and Enterprise 1,000, according to Atlassian's Jira Cloud plans documentation.
- Asana: Starter lists unlimited automations.
The practical read: 250 actions a month on monday Standard is roughly 12 automated actions per working day for the whole account, and ClickUp Free's 100 executions is about 5. A single rule that notifies a channel whenever a task changes status can use that in a morning.

Which plan first includes timeline or Gantt views?
Timeline and Gantt views are rarely free. This is the first tier that lists them on each vendor's page, alongside workload views and SSO.
| Tool | First tier with timeline or Gantt | First tier with workload or resource view | SAML SSO |
|---|---|---|---|
| Asana | Starter, $10.99 annual | Advanced, $24.99 annual | Enterprise |
| Trello | Premium, $10 annual (Timeline view) | Not listed | Enterprise, via Atlassian Guard, a separate subscription |
| monday work management | Standard, $12 billed annually (Timeline and Gantt views) | Pro, $19 billed annually (resource management) | Not stated on the pricing page |
| ClickUp | Unlimited, $7 annual, for unlimited Gantt charts; Business, $12 annual, for unlimited timeline views | Business (Free and Unlimited show Workload as trial) | Enterprise (Business lists Google SSO) |
| Wrike | Team, $10 a user billed annually (interactive Gantt charts) | Pinnacle, price on request (advanced resource and capacity planning) | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Jira | Free and Standard include basic roadmaps; advanced roadmaps from Premium | Not stated in the plan doc | Requires an Atlassian Guard subscription below Enterprise |
| Notion | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated | Business, $20 a member a month as displayed |
| Basecamp | No timeline or Gantt view listed on the pricing page | Not listed | Not listed |
Where a cell says not stated, the answer was not on the vendor's public pricing page and we did not fill it from third-party summaries.
How are guests and external collaborators billed?
Guest rules can change a remote team's bill more than the seat price does, because distributed teams tend to work with freelancers, agencies and clients.
- Asana: unlimited free guests on Starter and Advanced, without increasing your license count.
- Trello: single-board guests on Free and Standard; a guest on more than one board is a multi-board guest billed at the member rate.
- ClickUp: Free Forever allows guests but they must be given full access, with no permission control. Unlimited includes 5 guest seats for a 1-user Workspace plus 2 per additional paid user; Business includes 10 plus 5 per additional paid user. Guests from inside your own organization are billed as paid users.
- Notion: Free allows 10 external guests and paid plans unlimited guests. Notion says guests are free of charge but can only access the individual pages they are invited to.
- monday work management: guest access is listed from Standard, and Basic includes unlimited free viewers with read-only access. We could not load monday's help center to confirm how guests count toward seats, so we do not quote a ratio.
- Wrike: its pricing page says external users who need full access take a paid user seat.
- Basecamp: every person you add is counted, including clients and contractors, but from Studio up there is no per-user fee, so the count only matters on Free (5 users) and Freelancer (20 users).
How much does project management software cost for a 5-person remote team?
The assumption for this worked example: the team needs a timeline or Gantt view and working automations, so each vendor is priced at the first tier that lists both. Figures are per month in US dollars before tax, read at source on 16 September 2026. A dash means the page did not give us a verifiable monthly-billing figure.
| Tool and plan | 5 users, annual billing | 5 users, monthly billing | Automation allowance |
|---|---|---|---|
| ClickUp Unlimited (Gantt only) | $35 | $50 | 1,000 executions a month |
| Trello Premium | $50 | $62.50 | Unlimited command runs |
| Wrike Team | $50 | - | Not quantified on the pricing page |
| Asana Starter | $54.95 | $67.45 | Unlimited automations |
| monday work management Standard | $60, if a 5-seat plan is offered | - | 250 actions a month |
| ClickUp Business (full timeline view) | $60 | $95 | 5,000 executions a month |
For comparison, Basecamp Freelancer is a flat $25 a month for up to 20 users and 3 active projects, and Basecamp Free covers 5 users on 1 project, but neither lists a timeline view. monday's pricing page defaulted to a 10-seat team size and we could not read which seat counts it sells, so treat the monday row as a per-seat calculation rather than a quote.
How much does project management software cost for a 25-person remote team?
Same method, 25 people. This is where caps and flat pricing change the ranking.
| Tool and plan | 25 users, annual billing | 25 users, monthly billing | What changes at 25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basecamp Studio (flat, no timeline view) | $59 | - | Unlimited users, but 10 active projects and 25 GB |
| Basecamp Pro (flat, no timeline view) | $99 | - | 25 active projects and 100 GB |
| ClickUp Unlimited (Gantt only) | $175 | $250 | 1,000 executions shared by 25 people |
| Trello Premium | $250 | $312.50 | Premium is described as best for teams up to 100 |
| Asana Starter | $274.75 | $337.25 | Seats sold in increments of 5 between 5 and 30 users, so 25 fits exactly |
| monday work management Standard | $300, if a 25-seat plan is offered | - | Still 250 automation actions a month for the account |
| ClickUp Business | $300 | $475 | 5,000 executions a month |
| Wrike Business | $625 | - | Team is capped at 15 users, so 25 people must move to Business, sold for 5 to 200 users |
Two findings stand out. First, Wrike's user bands mean a team that grows from 15 to 16 people moves from $10 to $25 a seat. Second, Basecamp's pricing page states that Studio and higher include unlimited people with no per-user fees, and its Unlimited edition is $299 a month billed annually. At 25 people, Basecamp Pro costs less than half of Trello Premium; at 100 people, Trello Premium would be $1,000 a month on annual billing against the same $99 flat price.
Is Basecamp's flat pricing cheaper for large remote teams?
Yes, on price, once you pass a handful of people, but you are buying a different product. Basecamp's current tiers are Free (1 project, 1 GB, 5 users), Freelancer at $25 a month (3 active projects, 5 GB, 20 users), Studio at $59 (10 active projects, 25 GB, unlimited users), Pro at $99 (25 active projects, 100 GB) and Unlimited at $299 billed annually (unlimited projects, 1 TB). The cap that forces an upgrade is active projects, not people. Archived projects do not count.
The trade-off is that its pricing page lists message boards, to-dos, card tables, chat, schedules, time tracking and file storage, but no Gantt, timeline or workload view. A remote team that plans dependencies across months will still need a per-seat tool.
Ranking articles have not caught up. Toolradar's remote team roundup, first published 4 April 2026, describes Basecamp as $15 a user a month with a free plan limited to 3 users. Basecamp's page on 16 September 2026 showed flat monthly prices and a free plan with 5 users max.
Which task management apps include SSO for remote teams?
Single sign-on usually sits on the top tier, which matters for remote companies that manage laptops and accounts centrally. From the pages we read: Notion lists SAML SSO on Business, ClickUp lists SAML SSO and SCIM on Enterprise with Google SSO on Business, Asana lists SAML authentication on Enterprise, Linear lists SAML and SCIM on Enterprise, and Trello and Jira route SSO through Atlassian Guard, a separate subscription below Jira's Enterprise plan. monday, Wrike and Basecamp did not state SSO availability on their pricing pages.
How to choose a project management tool for a remote team without overpaying
- Count members and outside collaborators separately, then check each vendor's guest rules before multiplying by seat price.
- Find the first tier with the views you need, usually timeline or Gantt, and the tier with workload if you plan capacity.
- Estimate automation actions per month. Multiply your rules by how often they fire, and compare against monthly caps.
- Check user bands and project caps that force the next upgrade: Wrike Team stops at 15 users, Trello Free at 10 collaborators, Basecamp by active projects.
- Price the flat option too. Above roughly 10 people, Basecamp's flat tiers undercut every per-seat plan above, if you can live without a timeline.
Every figure here was read from vendor pages on 16 September 2026, and prices in this category change often. Confirm the plan on the vendor's page on the day you buy.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best project management tool for remote teams?▾
Asana vs Trello: which is better for a remote team?▾
Which project management tool has the best free plan for a remote team?▾
How much does project management software cost for a 25-person remote team?▾
How are guests billed in project management tools?▾
Is Basecamp's flat pricing cheaper for large remote teams?▾
Get a Free AI Ranking Consultation
Want to improve your brand's visibility in AI search engines like ChatGPT, Gemini, and Perplexity? Fill out the form and our experts will create a personalized strategy for you.

Written by
Devanshu
Chief Marketing Officer & AI Search Optimization Architect
Digital Marketing Strategist & Pioneer in SEO, Answer Engine Optimization (AEO), and Generative Engine Optimization (GEO).



