The best email marketing software for a small business is the one whose billing unit matches how you actually send. That sounds like a technicality. It is the single biggest reason a plan advertised at a low monthly figure turns into a much larger invoice a year later, and it is the part most comparison articles skip.
Email platforms do not all measure you the same way. Some charge by contacts, some by emails sent, some count unsubscribed people in your total and some do not, and when you go over a limit some charge an overage, some move you up a tier automatically and some stop your sends. We read each vendor's own pricing page and billing documentation on 16 September 2026 and built the comparison below from those pages only. We did not run campaigns through these platforms and we did not measure deliverability, so there are no inbox placement rankings here.
The short answer: which email marketing tool fits which small business
Pick by list size, sending frequency and whether you sell online, then check the billing unit before you commit.
| Situation | Where to look first | Why, from the vendor's own page |
|---|---|---|
| Newsletter or creator list under 10,000 subscribers, no budget | Kit Free | Free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers |
| Publishing a newsletter under 2,500 subscribers | beehiiv Launch | Free up to 2,500 subscribers with unlimited email sends |
| Large list, infrequent sending | Brevo | Priced by monthly email volume, with pay-as-you-go credits that do not expire |
| Regular newsletters plus automations on a tight budget | MailerLite Comfort | Unsubscribed and bounced subscribers are not billed |
| Online store that wants email and SMS together | Omnisend or Klaviyo | Both bill on contacts or active profiles and sell SMS alongside email |
| Product or app that also needs receipts and password resets | Brevo, or Resend alongside a marketing tool | Brevo includes transactional email on all plans; Resend sells it as its own product |
How each vendor measures you: the billing unit comparison
This is the table that decides your real cost. Every row was read from the vendor's pricing page or billing help documentation on 16 September 2026.
| Vendor | Billing unit | Unsubscribed contacts billed? | What happens when you exceed a limit | Entry send cap | Transactional email |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mailchimp | Contacts | Yes. Subscribed, unsubscribed and non-subscribed contacts count; archived, cleaned and deleted do not | Paid plans: automatic overage charge, sending continues. Free plan: sending on hold | Free: 500 sends a month, 250 a day. Essentials: 10x contact limit | Paid add-on for Standard and Premium |
| Brevo | Emails sent per month, with a contact allowance attached to each volume step | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page; extra email credits can be bought | Free: 300 emails a day. Starter: from 5,000 emails a month | Included on all plans, and counts toward monthly volume |
| MailerLite | Active subscribers | No. Unsubscribed and bounced are not billed | Paid: moved to next tier and charged automatically. Free: campaigns and automations locked | Free: 2,500 emails a month. Comfort: 10x the tier ceiling | Separate product (MailerSend) |
| Kit | Unique, active subscribers | Only unique and active subscribers are counted | Automatically upgraded to the next subscriber tier; downgrades are manual | Unlimited email broadcasts listed on Free | Not listed on the pricing page |
| Klaviyo | Active profiles (any profile that can be emailed, regardless of consent status) | No, once fully processed as suppressed, which can take up to 72 hours | Profiles: moved up a tier at the next billing cycle. Sends: flexible overage, auto-upgrade or stop, your choice | Free: 500 email sends a month | Not priced separately on the pricing page |
| Omnisend | Contacts | No, but non-subscribers who receive automated messages are billed | Not stated on the pricing page | Free: 500 emails a month. Standard: 12x list size | Not stated on the pricing page |
| ActiveCampaign | Contact bands | Not stated on the pricing page | Move to the next contact band; the vendor says you will never be locked out | Starter and Plus: 10x contact limit | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Constant Contact | Contacts and email sends | Not stated on the pricing page | Overage fees may apply | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page |
| beehiiv | Subscribers | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | Unlimited email sends on every plan | Send API excluded from the free plan |
| Resend | Emails sent (transactional) or contacts (marketing) | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page | Free: 3,000 emails a month, 100 a day | Transactional is the core product |
Where a cell says not stated, we could not find the answer on the vendor's public pricing page and did not fill the gap from third-party summaries. Ask sales before you rely on it.
Is it cheaper to pay per contact or per email sent?
Per email sent is cheaper if you have a big list and send rarely. Per contact is cheaper if you have a small list and send often. Brevo is the clearest example of the first model. Its pricing page sets the Starter price by monthly email volume, labelled campaigns and transactional, and it sells pay-as-you-go credits where one email sent equals one credit and credits do not expire.
There is a catch that the common description of Brevo as having unlimited contacts misses. On 16 September 2026 the Starter configurator attached a contact allowance to each volume step: 5,000 emails a month came with 500 contacts at $9, 10,000 emails with 1,500 contacts at $17, and 15,000 emails with 2,500 contacts at $25. From 20,000 emails a month at $32, the allowance jumped to 500,000 contacts. So at small volumes the contact count still matters, even on the plan that is priced by sends.
Contact-based vendors flip the logic: the list size sets the price and a send cap is derived from it. Mailchimp's plan documentation sets the monthly send limit at 10 times your contact limit on Essentials, 12 times on Standard and 15 times on Premium. MailerLite Comfort uses 10 times the ceiling of your subscriber tier, and Omnisend Standard uses 12 times your list. At weekly sending, none of those caps bite. At daily sending, a 10x cap runs out in the second week.
Do unsubscribed contacts count toward my email marketing bill?
At Mailchimp, yes. This is the most expensive detail in the whole category and the one comparison articles almost never state. Mailchimp's help documentation says subscribed, unsubscribed and non-subscribed contacts are all included in your contact count, while archived, cleaned and deleted contacts are not.
In practice that means a list of 2,500 subscribers that has accumulated 600 unsubscribes over the years is billed as 3,100 contacts. Mailchimp's pricing page sells in contact bands, and on 16 September 2026 the bands ran 1,501 to 2,500 and then 2,501 to 5,000. Those 600 people who asked never to hear from you push the account into the next band. The fix is to archive unsubscribed contacts, which removes them from the count.
The other vendors we checked take the opposite position. MailerLite says subscribers who have unsubscribed or bounced do not count. Kit counts only unique and active subscribers. Klaviyo's billing documentation, last updated 25 March 2026, says suppressed or unsubscribed profiles stay in the account for reporting but are not included in the billable count once processed. Omnisend says unsubscribed contacts are not billed, but it does bill non-subscribers who received automated messages, such as a customer who bought once and was sent a follow-up.
MailerLite adds one subtlety worth knowing before you clean a list: it uses a cumulative count within each billing cycle. An address that was active at any point in the cycle counts, even if you delete it later, until the count resets on your billing anniversary. Delete just after that date, not just before it.

What happens if my list grows past my plan's contact limit?
You will almost never be cut off on a paid plan. You will be charged more, and the only question is how. The three behaviours we found:
- Overage charge, service continues. Mailchimp says it will not interrupt service when your contact total goes over the limit during a billing cycle; you see an additional charge on your bill instead. Its pricing page adds that overages apply if either the contact or email send limit is exceeded.
- Automatic upgrade to the next tier. MailerLite raises your subscriber limit and charges your card for the next tier. Kit automatically upgrades you to the next subscriber tier, and its FAQ adds that if you clean your list and fall back under, its team has to downgrade the plan manually, so you must email support to stop paying for the higher tier. Klaviyo moves you to a tier with enough profiles from the next billing cycle.
- Sending stops. This is the free plan behaviour almost everywhere. Mailchimp places a hold on sending over 250 contacts, MailerLite locks campaigns and automations over 250 subscribers, and Klaviyo says free accounts cannot send additional emails once over 250 active profiles or 500 monthly sends.
Klaviyo is the one vendor that lets you choose what happens when you hit the send limit: pay flexible overages at your plan's unit rate, auto-upgrade, or stop sending. If a surprise invoice would hurt more than a paused campaign, set that option deliberately.
How much will email marketing cost with 2,500 or 10,000 contacts?
Here is the worked example most comparisons leave out. The assumption is a small business sending one campaign a week, so four sends a month: 10,000 emails a month at 2,500 contacts and 40,000 emails a month at 10,000 contacts. Every price is the monthly-billing figure the vendor's own configurator showed on 16 September 2026, in US dollars, before tax.
| Vendor and plan | 2,500 contacts, 10,000 sends | 10,000 contacts, 40,000 sends | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kit Free | $0 | $0 | Free covers up to 10,000 subscribers, so 10,000 is exactly at the cap. Creator, which adds unlimited automations and sequences, was $59 at the 3,000 tier and $139 at 10,000 |
| beehiiv Launch | $0 | Not verified | Launch is free up to 2,500 subscribers with unlimited sends |
| Brevo Starter | $25 | $46 | At 2,500 contacts you need the 15,000-email step because the 10,000-email step only includes 1,500 contacts. Removing Brevo branding was a $12 a month add-on |
| MailerLite Comfort | $33 | $89 | Send caps of 25,000 and 100,000. Power, with unlimited sends, was $49 and $129 |
| Resend Marketing Pro | $40 | Not verified | $40 is the 5,000-contact entry point; marketing plans are not limited by emails sent |
| Omnisend Standard | $44 | $132 | Send caps of 30,000 and 120,000. Pro, with unlimited sends, was $59 and $150 |
Annual billing lowers most of these. MailerLite Comfort dropped to $29.70 and $80.10 a month on yearly billing, Kit Creator to $50 and $116 a month, and Brevo Starter to $22.50 and $41.42. Omnisend offered 30 percent off for paying three months upfront, which is why its headline prices look lower than the monthly figures above.
Mailchimp, Klaviyo, ActiveCampaign and Constant Contact are missing from the table on purpose. Mailchimp and Constant Contact served us region-specific pricing rather than US prices, ActiveCampaign's page did not display prices without a quote, and Klaviyo's page published only its entry price, $20 a month for 251 to 500 active profiles on the Email plan. We would rather leave a cell out than print a number we did not read at source. Use each vendor's calculator with your own contact count before you compare.
Which email marketing tools have a permanent free plan?
Several do, and the caps vary enormously. These are permanent free tiers, not trials:
- Kit: up to 10,000 subscribers, the largest free subscriber cap we found.
- beehiiv Launch: up to 2,500 subscribers with unlimited email sends.
- Resend: 1,000 marketing contacts, plus 3,000 transactional emails a month capped at 100 a day.
- Brevo: up to 300 emails a day once your account is approved for sending.
- MailerLite: up to 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails a month.
- Mailchimp: 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, 250 a day.
- Klaviyo: 250 active profiles and 500 email sends a month, with full email support only for the first 60 days.
- Omnisend: 250 contacts and 500 emails a month.
ActiveCampaign offers a 14-day free trial rather than a free plan, and Constant Contact offers a 30-day refund guarantee rather than a free tier.
Free tier caps also change. Zapier's Mailchimp alternatives roundup, last updated in March 2026, describes MailerLite as free for up to 500 subscribers and 12,000 emails a month with a paid plan called Growing Business. MailerLite's own page on 16 September 2026 showed a free cap of 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails, and paid plans named Comfort and Power. If you plan around a free tier, read the vendor's page on the day you sign up.
What are the cheapest Mailchimp alternatives?
At the two list sizes we priced, the cheapest paid options were Brevo Starter at $25 and $46 a month and MailerLite Comfort at $33 and $89, with Kit's free plan beating both if you can live without its paid automation features. The honest caveat is that we could not price Mailchimp itself in US dollars at these sizes, so we cannot give you a verified percentage saving.
What we can say is structural. If your Mailchimp account carries a lot of unsubscribed contacts, you are paying for them and you would not be at MailerLite, Kit, Klaviyo or Omnisend. Archiving them in Mailchimp is the free first step. If you send rarely to a large list, a send-based model like Brevo's is likely to beat any contact-based plan. If you need receipts and order confirmations too, note that Mailchimp sells its transactional product as a paid add-on on Standard and Premium, while Brevo includes transactional email on every plan.
Is transactional email included in email marketing plans?
Usually not, and it matters if you run a store or an app. Transactional email is the one-to-one mail triggered by an action, such as order confirmations and password resets. Brevo includes it on all plans, with APIs, SMTP and webhooks, but it counts toward the same monthly email volume. Mailchimp sells Mailchimp Transactional as a paid add-on for Standard and Premium. MailerLite points you to its sister product, MailerSend. Resend is built the other way round: transactional is the core product, with marketing plans priced separately by contacts.
If you need both, check whether transactional sends eat into your marketing allowance, as they do on Brevo, before sizing your plan.
Which email marketing platform is best for an ecommerce store?
Omnisend and Klaviyo are the two built around store data, and the choice between them comes down partly to billing. Omnisend publishes tier prices openly: $44 a month on Standard at 2,500 contacts and $132 at 10,000, with Pro adding unlimited sends and SMS from $0.007 a message. It bills non-subscribers who received automated messages, which in a store includes one-time buyers who got a post-purchase flow.
Klaviyo defines an active profile as any profile that can be emailed regardless of consent status, so checkout contacts count, and it publishes only its entry price openly. Its advantage is control: you choose whether exceeding your send limit triggers overages, an upgrade or a stop. Klaviyo's page also notes that SMS and mobile messages are metered separately.
A note on deliverability, since every vendor markets it. Constant Contact's pricing page claims a 98 percent inbox rate based on 2025 Validity Everest test results. That is a vendor claim about its own qualified test, not an independent measurement, and we did not test any platform's inbox placement. Your own list hygiene and authentication will move your results more than a headline percentage.
How to choose without overpaying
Start with three numbers: your total contacts including unsubscribes, how many emails you send a month, and how fast the list is growing. Then work through this order.
- If you are under 10,000 subscribers and do not need paid automation features, try Kit Free first.
- If your list is large and you send less than weekly, price Brevo by volume, and check the contact allowance at your volume step.
- If you send weekly or more to a list you keep clean, compare MailerLite and Omnisend at your exact tier, monthly and annual.
- If you are staying on Mailchimp, archive unsubscribed contacts before your next billing date.
- Whatever you choose, find out what happens when you exceed the limit, and on Kit remember that a smaller list does not downgrade the plan by itself.
Then read the price on the vendor's page on the day you buy, on the billing basis you intend to use. Plan names and free caps in this category have changed within months, and the article you read last quarter may already be wrong.
よくある質問
What is the best email marketing software for a small business?▾
Do unsubscribed contacts count toward my email marketing bill?▾
How much does email marketing software cost for 2,500 contacts?▾
What happens if my list grows past my plan's contact limit?▾
Which email marketing tools have a permanent free plan?▾
Is transactional email included in email marketing plans?▾
Is it cheaper to pay per contact or per email sent?▾
Get a Free AI Ranking Consultation
Want to improve your brand's visibility in AI search engines like ChatGPT, Gemini, and Perplexity? Fill out the form and our experts will create a personalized strategy for you.

著者
Devanshu
Chief Marketing Officer & AI Search Optimization Architect
Digital Marketing Strategist & Pioneer in SEO, Answer Engine Optimization (AEO), and Generative Engine Optimization (GEO).



